Charlie Tango 11m DX Radio Group Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.


Welcome to the Charlie Tango DX Group. The home of ALL things Radio - CB, 11m DX, Amateur, PMR446, PLD, Network and Data. We welcome all radio enthusiasts of all knowledge levels. Join today and claim your own unique World Famous CT Call-sign
 
HomeEventsCalendarFAQSearchRegisterLog in
New eQSL Email Service: Exchange eQSL cards quickly and easily with your very own eQSL email address like this... 26CT000@eQSL.me or 26CT000@charlietango.co.uk - See Latest News forum for more details.
Latest Buxton 2020 News: Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandemic we have had to cancel this year's Buxton date. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Navigation
Useful Radio Sites
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
CT Bill Board





Views This Year
All Time Views
Classified Adverts

Latest topics
Keywords
Mobile yaesu president ss9900 sign 6900n radio chart 9900 midland Mckinley antenna lincoln callsign alan division Buxton bazooka power list frequency Sirio call Calling tickets ALINCO
QRZ Database
 

 Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Derek Collins
New Member
New Member


Call Sign : 163-CT-243
Posts : 5
Times Thanked : 0
Join date : 2020-05-03
QTH or Location : Nelson, South Wales
Equipment Used : Midland Alan 42. , 78, crt millennium, crt ss9900
Age : 50

Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Empty
PostSubject: Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them   Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Icon_minitimeMon May 04, 2020 6:10 pm

Trying to decide which home base antenna to go for any opinions?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DV1701
New Member
New Member
DV1701

Call Sign : 26-CT-3520
Posts : 6
Times Thanked : 0
Join date : 2020-05-04
QTH or Location : Telford, Shropshire
Equipment Used : Uniden 100 & 200. SS6900n for 10m. Yaesu FT8900

Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them   Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Icon_minitimeMon May 04, 2020 6:13 pm

I use a Sirio GPE 5/8wave and its good. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Derek Collins
New Member
New Member


Call Sign : 163-CT-243
Posts : 5
Times Thanked : 0
Join date : 2020-05-03
QTH or Location : Nelson, South Wales
Equipment Used : Midland Alan 42. , 78, crt millennium, crt ss9900
Age : 50

Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them   Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Icon_minitimeTue May 05, 2020 5:18 pm

Well I slipped and it’s ordered now so guess I will just have to find out how good it is ! Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
26TC62
Contributor
Contributor
26TC62

Call Sign : 26TC62, 26CT2817
Posts : 142
Times Thanked : 29
Join date : 2019-06-27
QTH or Location : Portsmouth
Equipment Used : Yaesu 891, 10m pole, wire 5/8, T2LT

Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them   Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Icon_minitimeTue May 05, 2020 9:14 pm

It will be fine, a 5/8 is a 5/8 as long as it is mechanically sturdy, which that looks like it is.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SeanofNorthwich
New Member
New Member


Call Sign : 26-CT-3446
Posts : 15
Times Thanked : 0
Join date : 2020-04-10
QTH or Location : Northwich Cheshire
Equipment Used : CRT6900 and a good old Sirio Tornado

Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them   Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them Icon_minitimeTue May 12, 2020 9:36 pm

What is your feedback on your slip buy Derek?

Got mine up this weekend, gable end of house, with about 3' from the ridge line to bottom of the ground planes. I found the quality to be excellent with the exception of the supplied allen keys that rounded off as soon as the grub screws bit. Slung them and used my half decent allen keys. We had a lot of wind on Sunday and she was swinging around wildly but no bending.
I guess the only thing I hadn't thought about clearly was the effort it took to swing the antenna around to get the ground planes above the edge of the roof before elevating it its final height. Wish I was a bit younger and stronger. Another point of note was the fiddling about with the U bolts. Unlike a silver rod where the U bolts can be pre-assembled through the holes in the antenna plate so you just slip it onto your pole, with the Sirio, (unless i missed something obvious) you need to get the antenna adjacent to the pole and then slip the Sirio U bolts into place, align the pole to be in line with the antenna and tighten up. Perhaps it was just the way I had to do it. If i need to get it down then I will replace my pole with a 6m tube and just walk it vertical onto the wall. Its a max 40mm pole diameter if using the supplied fixings.
In terms of receive and transmit its a world apart from my cheap silver rod I had up previously. It is quite a bit taller than the rod and visually more intrusive (not a problem as I have super neighbours) but could be an issue if your neighbours routinely have dramas about anything and everything. Personally I wouldn't go any taller than this but suspect there is only a Sigma 4 that would be any taller.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Sirio Tornado- any or use one with opinion on them
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Charlie Tango 11m DX Radio Group Forum :: Help and Discussion Forums :: Antenna Discussion-
Jump to: